Milly rose is here

It has been a long while since I have posted, life has been hectic. Grab a cuppa lets catch up…..

I finished work at 34 weeks pregnant. This was the right decision for me. I needed to organise my house, clean, shop for the baby and do lots of jobs. More importantly I needed to do this at a slower pace. In all honestly I found resting hard, in the end I discovered a lie down with a book was the best rest I could enjoy.

At 38 weeks my mum came out. I can’t say too much as she has only just left again and i will cry but quite frankly I shared the most special 6 weeks of my life with my closest family and friend. She was there for the birth, helped me get comfortable with being a mum and just made a special time more wonderful.

At 40 weeks I was induced. We had thought the baby was coming the week before via c-section as she was brow presenting but a final scan showed she had moved and we waited. I can write a birth story if people want to read more detail but in summary I loved my birth, it was honestly one of the most positive experiences of my life. I felt well cared for and supported and I really feel like I didn’t suffer too much at all. After such a positive birth I healed well and have been walking about since the next day and doing longer walks and tasks since around 1 week post partum. By 3 weeks post partum I felt like myself again.

I am now nearly 4 weeks post partum and life has been a whirlwind. I have had a lot of help and through this have not felt too overwhelmed. Gradually we have got Milly’s bedtime back to a more reasonable 10pm from an outrageous 3am after she was born. We are breastfeeding well and she is stacking on weight which makes me happy. I am finding my feet slowly but surely and working out how we work together in a day- how to fit in my house work, cooking, laundry and also making myself presentable each day. Since the day after the birth I have made sure I am up, showered and dressed daily which I think has helped me to feel normal.

Other things of note; I am now walking daily and loving it ( I missed it daily towards the end of pregnancy- I am now looking forward to when I can jog again), I cut fodmaps again and not only do I feel better but Milly seems much more settled and less tummy achy. YesI miss sleep but I am managing fine. I don’t know what I currently weight, I am no lo get in maternity clothes but am a flabbier version of myself…. I am not stressed I will do it slowly and sensibly and just want to be back to my comfy size and fit and toned by Christmas.

I have spent a small fortune lately, now I need to be back on the baby budget!

Being three is even more amazing than being two. Sometimes I see my husband holding my daughter and i want to cry i am so full of love!

I have never known love like I feel for my daughter. I now realise more than ever what a brave, strong woman my mother was to set me free and support me moving to australia. I really hope that soon we can all live closer and the three generations can cause chaos!

Here is a quick snap shot of the light of my life.

how did pregnancy and birth change your world?

20140607-190413.jpg

3 thoughts on “Milly rose is here

  1. Lovely post, and congrats again she is gorgeous! I can’t wait to meet my little man at the end of September, but at the same time I don’t want to wish away my pregnancy and enjoy every moment of it too. My workload should be cut right back from August, but with me working for myself I think I’ll still be ‘working’ a couple of hours a week until he arrives! Lovely that you had your Mam there to support you too 🙂

  2. Beautiful post, love reading that you had such a positive experience during labour. I would love to hear more about it, if you don’t mind. I can’t wait to meet my baby boy in September – I’m so excited! Congratulations on your baby girl, she is lovely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

