Food philosophy- with kids

These post is going to be one of those ones where everyone has their own views. A bit of context is I used to be heavier and not feel great, I improved my diet and was smaller then got pregnant. I have not quite got to pre pregnancy weight but my eating has stayed pretty moderate and I am smaller than I was. My husband is a shocker he is on a health kick but his idea of that is shakes plus unhealthy food as it causes weightloss rather than the balanced diet I worked towards.

With a daughter comes immense pressure, I feel, to ensure she doesn’t see me dieting, hating myself or do anything other than enjoy food and exercise. With this in mind we have been pretty good and walked or done mums and bubs most days since she was born. I think she loves to get out for a walk, a bike ride or many other activities and I am happy a good relationship is being cultivated with that. She goes to the crèche and sees her mum making exercise a priority which is also, I believe, important.

With regards to diet I have put a lot of thought into my approach. I lost weight with a healthy approach, I used weight watchers to track my points and it essentially taught me to eat enough, well spaces healthy food and have 20% ish treat food. I would like to pass this on. Whilst I love making cakes etc, we really don’t need them around the house calling out to be eaten. My husband will eat them all, then feel bad, or they will go to waste. Furthermore, as she has been encouraged to try everything and anything, there is an expectation from milly that she shares or tastes whatever we have. I read about mothers dutifully cooking healthy treat food and then children not understanding why they can have this and not treats when they are out. With all this in mind we have fallen to a routine I really like. At home is the 80% where she generally has all home cooked from scratch food. When we are out its the 20% so she may have a biscuit at nanas, share ice cream with dad, have half a cookie when she goes for coffee with mummy and a friend. It works well, she loves to go out and have coffee and eat because she knows she can join in. Today she had a plain ice cream cone with nothing in whilst we had a coffee and loved it!

The 80% at home varies day to day but here are some of the things we cycle through.

Breakfast
Always a banana
Either scrambled eggs, wholegrain toast and avocado, almond milk porridge and blueberries, occasionally pancakes or rice bubbles but this would be once in a blue moon!

Morning snack
Fruit, sometimes a home made snack of some kind of she’s hungry like a wholegrain banana bread. Raisins are also a fave.

Lunch
She loves bits it’s usually cheese, ham, cherry tomatoes, grated carrots, sweet corn fritter, sweet potato fritters, tuna fish cakes any of this or wider. She likes wraps aswell.

Afternoon snack
Same as morning- she normally only has one snack daily depending on how late/ early lunch was.

Dinner
Literally anything, rissoles, spag Bol, salmon, chicken, coleslaw, sweet potato, mash, beans, sausages, broccoli and chicken pasta, all normally served with a portion of microwave veg which she loves as they are little so she can eat in a pincer grip. We finish dinner with some fruit and also yogurt buttons ( milly has trouble with dairy but has some cheese and a few yogurt buttons daily to gradually get used to it)

Drinks
She has water, sometimes with a squeeze of lime or something for flavour, mainly plain. If constipated she has had watered down Apple juice which worked like a charm. She also has a sippy cup of milk after breakfast and after dinner. We still use soy formula as she has problems with milk.

I love this philosophy and it works well for hubs and I. There isn’t stuff laying around the house to tempt us. We eat well knowing we can all have a nice treat and it’s a good occasion. Grandparents can treat her as they wish and I don’t have to
I worry and she never wants for that food at home. Infact I would say this is her top 5 foods currently

1 blueberries
2 banana
3 cheese
4 chicken ( used to be ham I think this has been bumped now for chicken)
5 peas

I am pretty happy with her love of these food!

what philosophy do you have to raising your child around food? Or will you have?

Leave a Reply

